Dennis Named to 2011 U.S. Parapan American Games Team

Dennis Ogbe

U.S. Paralympics, a division of the U.S. Olympic Committee, has announced the 44 track & field athletes that have been nominated to compete at the 2011 Parapan American Games in Guadaljara, Mexico, November 12-20.

“This is a team that’s going to get some invaluabe international experience at a high-level competition,” said Cathy Sellers, U.S. Paralympics Director, Track & Field Sport Performance. “We have some experienced athletes who will be great mentors for those who are just emerging onto the scene and that’s going to be an important part of our success in Guadalajara, as well as an important step on the road to London.”

The team features 15 Paralympians and a host of up-and-coming athletes looking to make their mark in the lead-up to the London 2012 Paralympic Games. Additionally, nine military veterans and active duty service members have claimed a spot on Team USA for the 2011 Parapan American Games.

All nominations are contingent upon meeting all prerequisites listed in the selection procedures including their agreement and adherence to the USOC Code of Conduct for U.S. Paralympics and Paralympic Programs.

2011 U.S. Parapan American Games Track & Field Team

Zach Abbott (Tucson, Ariz.)
David Brown (Hazelwood, Mo.)
Matt Brown (Idalou, Texas)
Rob Brown (Chula Vista, Calif.)
Kortney Clemons (Little Rock, Miss.)
Sam Craven (Walnut Creek, Calif.)
Scott Danberg (Cooper City, Fla.)
Travis Dodson (Champaign, Ill.)
Rudy Garcia-Tolson (Bloomington, Calif.)
Tanner Gers (Tucson, Ariz.)
Lex Gillette (Raleigh, N.C.)
Chris Hammer (Cheney, Wash.)
Erik Hightower (Glendale, Ariz.)
Khalid Jliat (Lake Worth, Fla.)
Blake Leeper (Churchill, Tenn.)
Carlos Leon (North Lauderdale, Fla.)
Ray Martin (Jersey City, N.J.)
Michael Murray (Nashville, Tenn.)
Dennis Ogbe (Louisville, Ky.)
Markeith Price (Baltimore, Md.)
David Prince (Brandon, Fla.)
Brad Ray (Loveland, Colo.)
Scot Severn (Caro, Mich.)
Josh Swoverland (Champaign, Ill.)
Casey Tibbs (Augusta, Ga.)
Shaquille Vance (Chula Vista, Calif.)
Jarryd Wallace (Athens, Ga.)
Scott Winkler (Grovetown, Ga.)

Mallerie Badgett (Birmingham, Ala.)
Sydney Bolen (Cordova, Tenn.)
Kate Callahan (San Antonio, Texas)
Zena Cole (Oregon, Ohio)
Julie Crisp (Portland, Ore.)
Carleigh DeWald (Canby, Ore.)
April Holmes (Chula Vista, Calif.)
Cheryl Leitner (Myrtle Beach, S.C.)
Angela Madsen (Long Beach, Calif.)
Chelsea McClammer (Spokane, Wash.)
Kristen Messer (Austin, Texas)
Christina Ripp (Dane, Wis.)
Robyn Stawski (Tampa, Fla.)
Katy Sullivan (Burbank, Calif.)
Stephanie Timmer (Naperville, Ill.)
Amberlynn Weber (Spokane, Wash.)

You can read the official announcement at the U.S. Paralympics website.